You are not logged in.

Announcement

[2017.09.08] DeployStudio build v1.7.8 (checksum, release note).
[2016.08.26] DeployStudio build v1.6.19 (release note).
[2013.02.23] DeployStudio last universal build v1.5.17 (release note).

#26 2017-10-25 02:23:58

Trikster
Member
Registered: 2015-06-25

Re: DS 1.7.7 and APFS restore of 10.13 is possible :-) !

How about installing it first?

Offline

#27 2017-10-25 02:34:59

shovett
Member
Registered: 2016-11-15

Re: DS 1.7.7 and APFS restore of 10.13 is possible :-) !

> Trikster wrote


Does the target computer have the firmware installed onto it before the imaging process?



both of mine did have the updated firmware installed.
For the time being I am deploying HFS image of High Sierra to the latest Mac Pro.

Offline

#28 2017-10-25 05:41:28

Trikster
Member
Registered: 2015-06-25

Re: DS 1.7.7 and APFS restore of 10.13 is possible :-) !

Is it working or no?

Offline

#29 2017-10-25 07:36:49

mjsanders
Member
From: Delft, Netherlands
Registered: 2008-09-02
Website

Re: DS 1.7.7 and APFS restore of 10.13 is possible :-) !

If your firmware.pkg fails at manual install, the package is not working, so fix that.
Redo your steps, one small typo will put things in the wrong place.

edit: If your firmware is already up to date, the pkg will finish with a 'fail' in the last post install script. But if you check the log, there should be a lot of files copied. So let's check first if the package is not working (small log with direct fail), or that the firmware is already updated (long log, with fail at end)

I did some work with this kind of packages, working on ONE workflow that would restore 10.13 and update firmware, and I gave up to make it perfect.
See my post above from 2017-10-05

Last edited by mjsanders (2017-10-25 07:39:57)

Offline

#30 2017-10-25 22:41:27

pjmills
Member
Registered: 2017-10-24

Re: DS 1.7.7 and APFS restore of 10.13 is possible :-) !

If I install High Sierra first the imaging process will work fine. I am trying to image computers that do not have High Sierra installed first or have the firmware installed already.

I'll have to check the firmware package again.

Thanks

Offline

#31 2017-10-26 18:20:39

BDude004
Member
Registered: 2017-10-18

Re: DS 1.7.7 and APFS restore of 10.13 is possible :-) !

> mjsanders wrote:

> If your firmware.pkg fails at manual install, the package is not working, so fix that.
Redo your steps, one small typo will put things in the wrong place.

> edit: If your firmware is already up to date, the pkg will finish with a 'fail' in the last post install script. But if you check the log, there should be a lot of files copied. So let's check first if the package is not working (small log with direct fail), or that the firmware is already updated (long log, with fail at end)


Hi mjsanders,

I've recreated this firmware package several times now, and it just will not work. The package creation appears to run ok (though I had to edit a few lines to make it work). When installing manually it appears to run fine as well, though when I reboot it doesn't act like a typical firmware update (just boots as normal). And when I then try to deploy my 10.13 image, the workflow completes and reboots, and then halts with the "? folder" icon, indicating that the firmware update did not actually install.

Would love any help!

Offline

#32 2017-10-26 18:52:25

mjsanders
Member
From: Delft, Netherlands
Registered: 2008-09-02
Website

Re: DS 1.7.7 and APFS restore of 10.13 is possible :-) !

You have to separete the issues: Firmware package and restoring/selection of boot device

do separate tests before you join them in one workflow

Testing the firmware pkg is something you can do only once on each Mac. (and not on a VM)
Once the mac is up to date, the package will not do anything.

Restoring the APFS volume finishes with setting the boot volume to the one just restored. You can re-run this worklow any number of times on the same mac.
(provided the firmware is up to date)
There is long time bug that even if you de-select the option to set the restored volume as default boot, Runtime will always (try to) do that.
But in my simple workflow all worked as expected..


some tips:
-Do you run any self-built scripts? (the bless command no longer works, use systemsetup -setstartupdisk)
-install pkg post-poned for best results (in mho)
-check all logs, both in DS (runtime logs) as ds_finalize.log after restore.
-make a simple workflow to start with (just reformat, restore, reboot) test that, then add steps.

Offline

#33 2017-10-31 16:45:05

BDude004
Member
Registered: 2017-10-18

Re: DS 1.7.7 and APFS restore of 10.13 is possible :-) !

Hi mjsanders,

I've tried several times to create it on my own, but it just never works. I used the instructions earlier in this thread with the "Create standalone FirmwareUpdate.pkg" script, and though the pkg is created, and manual installation "appears" to run just fine on a machine that doesn't yet have the firmware update, the firmware update is NOT installed, and I can't deploy my 10.13 image. Do you (or anyone else reading this) have a working copy of the firmware update that I could have access to?

Thanks

Offline

#34 2017-10-31 22:09:43

Phych
Member
Registered: 2012-04-05

Re: DS 1.7.7 and APFS restore of 10.13 is possible :-) !

I'm attempting to do restore of an iMac18,1 image created by 1.7.8. Manually updated the firmware via High Sierra update, but I'm still getting flashing missing folder icon when iMac restarts.

Offline

#35 2017-11-06 23:01:19

Phych
Member
Registered: 2012-04-05

Re: DS 1.7.7 and APFS restore of 10.13 is possible :-) !

I've tried a couple things so far with APFS, DS 1.7.8, and an iMac18,1:

First, with a couple applications installed, and a file on desktop. Created a system image in DS via Netboot. Image seems to have been created sucessfully. Tried restoring image using both a single restore workflow and a partition/restore image workflow, but both result in missing folder upon SSD boot. I reinstalled High Sierra after the fact (both with USB and restore partition) and the system will finally boot with most things intact (Adobe seemed to not like the imaging process).

Second, I tried AutoDMG (no additional packages beyond High Sierra and updates), uploading to DS repository and restoring via the two methods mentioned with the first test. Both worked flawlessly, with the iMac booting directly to setup each time.

Unfortunately, it seems that restoring an APFS image created with DS isn't a viable option at the moment.

Last edited by Phych (2017-11-07 01:21:46)

Offline

#36 2017-11-07 01:19:18

Trikster
Member
Registered: 2015-06-25

Re: DS 1.7.7 and APFS restore of 10.13 is possible :-) !

Has anyone been able to do an HFS+ restore of High Sierra?  I can't seem to do that either.  Hoping to have a brand new 2017 iMac in hand this week to test.  I think that the computers I am currently using are just too old to talk to each other once High Sierra is added to the mix.  Regular Sierra and below, zero issues.

Offline

#37 2017-11-15 16:57:55

cem62793
Member
Registered: 2015-11-05

Re: DS 1.7.7 and APFS restore of 10.13 is possible :-) !

> Trikster wrote:

> Has anyone been able to do an HFS+ restore of High Sierra?  I can't seem to do that either.  Hoping to have a brand new 2017 iMac in hand this week to test.  I think that the computers I am currently using are just too old to talk to each other once High Sierra is added to the mix.  Regular Sierra and below, zero issues.

I have been able to deploy a HFS+ copy of High Sierra with the workflow we use for everything else. It does give quite a few errors but it does finish successfully. The thing to note is I had to create the deploy image for the HFS+ copy of High Sierra using Deploy Studio not AutoDMG.

Offline

#38 2017-11-15 18:21:13

Trikster
Member
Registered: 2015-06-25

Re: DS 1.7.7 and APFS restore of 10.13 is possible :-) !

> cem62793 wrote:

> I have been able to deploy a HFS+ copy of High Sierra with the workflow we use for everything else. It does give quite a few errors but it does finish successfully. The thing to note is I had to create the deploy image for the HFS+ copy of High Sierra using Deploy Studio not AutoDMG.

Did you have to do anything special to capture the image?  I have been unable to do that either.

Offline

#39 2017-11-22 17:47:33

cem62793
Member
Registered: 2015-11-05

Re: DS 1.7.7 and APFS restore of 10.13 is possible :-) !

> Trikster wrote:

> > cem62793 wrote:

> I have been able to deploy a HFS+ copy of High Sierra with the workflow we use for everything else. It does give quite a few errors but it does finish successfully. The thing to note is I had to create the deploy image for the HFS+ copy of High Sierra using Deploy Studio not AutoDMG.

Did you have to do anything special to capture the image?  I have been unable to do that either.

I just installed high sierra on a md101, used the users reset script and then captured the image with the deploy studio workflow for creating a master from a volume.

Offline

#40 2017-11-22 23:08:41

Trikster
Member
Registered: 2015-06-25

Re: DS 1.7.7 and APFS restore of 10.13 is possible :-) !

> cem62793 wrote:

> > Trikster wrote:

> > cem62793 wrote:

> I have been able to deploy a HFS+ copy of High Sierra with the workflow we use for everything else. It does give quite a few errors but it does finish successfully. The thing to note is I had to create the deploy image for the HFS+ copy of High Sierra using Deploy Studio not AutoDMG.

Did you have to do anything special to capture the image?  I have been unable to do that either.

I just installed high sierra on a md101, used the users reset script and then captured the image with the deploy studio workflow for creating a master from a volume.

Users reset script?

Offline

#41 2017-11-25 00:24:25

cem62793
Member
Registered: 2015-11-05

Re: DS 1.7.7 and APFS restore of 10.13 is possible :-) !

We used to use a script to reset the users when we made images for deploy studio. The file is linked here https://www.dropbox.com/s/orrwyownqw4aatn/osx-remove-userdb-master.zip?dl=0

Offline

#42 2017-12-06 01:10:24

ebonweaver
Member
Registered: 2015-06-09

Re: DS 1.7.7 and APFS restore of 10.13 is possible :-) !

Based on the thread it appears people have been able to build a 10.13 netboot set.  How?  Thus far DS 1.7.8 is unable to do this, it errors immediately, does not give a reason, and does not log anything in system.log where it points you for more information.  It fails immediately when it unmounts the recovery image.  No issue with same process for 10.12.

Offline

#43 2017-12-06 04:22:58

Trikster
Member
Registered: 2015-06-25

Re: DS 1.7.7 and APFS restore of 10.13 is possible :-) !

It would be great if the DS team would chime in. My organization just got JAMF, which is fine for individual computers. It sucks for labs that have custom configurations.

Offline

#44 2018-02-07 16:21:57

y2j420
Member
Registered: 2015-03-19

Re: DS 1.7.7 and APFS restore of 10.13 is possible :-) !

No matter what I do, DeployStudio will NOT work with High Sierra.  I created a NBI from the latest version of High Sierra and can get to the DeployStudio system properly.  But every restoration I try on a High Sierra machine with a captured High Sierra image ends up with a ? Folder or a no symbol.

Apple really screwed the pooch with High Sierra imaging.  I believe we're going to have to resort back to a manual process for prepping Apple machines here.

Offline

#45 2018-02-07 19:04:21

mjsanders
Member
From: Delft, Netherlands
Registered: 2008-09-02
Website

Re: DS 1.7.7 and APFS restore of 10.13 is possible :-) !

@Y2j420 : Yes, Apple is trying to kill imaging, so do not expect support there. Even worse, with newer hardware things are getting more picky. Touch Bar mac's need special care of the EFI partition, so try to avoid re-partitioning. imac Pro's cannot netboot. Next generation models? who knows?
read more here : https://scriptingosx.com/2017/10/imaging-is-dead/

However, using the tools around like deploystudio, and using knowledge on this forum on what works and not, you can continue to use Deploystudio.
For 10.13 the most common mistake is to try to create images using DeployStudio. That usually fails (or the image fails to boot after restore..)
The only working solution is to create images using tools like AutoDMG. Use the advanced options in AutoDMG to create your image twice; once with apfs, and once with HFS.
Use the apfs.dmg image to restore to mac's with SSD's,. and hfs.dmg image to the rest.

Offline

#46 2018-02-07 22:18:16

y2j420
Member
Registered: 2015-03-19

Re: DS 1.7.7 and APFS restore of 10.13 is possible :-) !

OK, I've used AutoDMG to make the NBI in the past and it has worked.  Now how can I take an image that AutoDMG created and have DeployStudio use that in a task sequence for Restore a master on a volume?  When I copied the .dmg into my usual DeployStudio image folder, it never populated the image selection screen in DeployStudio.  Thanks!

Last edited by y2j420 (2018-02-07 22:18:39)

Offline

#47 2018-02-07 23:08:23

mjsanders
Member
From: Delft, Netherlands
Registered: 2008-09-02
Website

Re: DS 1.7.7 and APFS restore of 10.13 is possible :-) !

Copy to the right place, with DS 1.7.7 and later there are several folders in your Repository / Masters / folder.
To be able to use the dmg in DeployStuidio you need two things:
-name should end with apfs.dmg or hfs.dmg (AutoDMG creates the right names by default)
-put in right folder inside Masters ( APFS, HFS respectivly)
wait a while for DS to recognize the new files.(or stop/start the deamon)

Offline

#48 2018-02-08 22:36:30

y2j420
Member
Registered: 2015-03-19

Re: DS 1.7.7 and APFS restore of 10.13 is possible :-) !

So I was able to make a successful restoration on a MBP with High Sierra 10.13.  I utilized AutoDMG and the OS High Sierra installer from Apple.  It worked in DeployStudio.  I then updated that MBP, installed some more programs, and then tried to capture it via my Mac server's disk utility.  I then took that created .dmg, sent it through AutoDMG, which made it an .apfs.dmg.  I put that in DeployStudio and tried to restore with it; it resulted in a ? folder boot.

So can AutoDMG only use a vanilla installer from Apple and ALL applications have to be added at the time of .apfs.dmg creation?  Or is the ability to create a master image, dump it, and restore across multiple machines (via a combination of AutoDMG and DeployStudio) gone?  Thanks.

Offline

#49 2018-02-09 08:53:35

mjsanders
Member
From: Delft, Netherlands
Registered: 2008-09-02
Website

Re: DS 1.7.7 and APFS restore of 10.13 is possible :-) !

I am afraid the answer is 'Yes' (you cannot capture apfs images and deploy them)

Use the AutoDMG feature to add packages/software to the dmg.
Packages can contain software, but also scripts, config files.
Deploystudio can rename mac's , create users, etc.
Or use tools like Munki to deploy software after deployment, but that is different kind of beast.

Offline

#50 2018-02-09 22:06:27

X@vier
Member
Registered: 2010-03-23

Re: DS 1.7.7 and APFS restore of 10.13 is possible :-) !

I found this post in one of the google groups

link to post
https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic/macenterprise/ZJySPwUIeT4
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
You can also use deploy studio to kick off the HighSierra installer if you don’t like using imagr.

Here is the script I wrote that will start the os install from a DS workflow.  You can couple this this a workflow step that repartitions the drive and you will wind up with a clean install.  Just make sure to add the High Sierra installer to the applications folder of the netboot image


#!/bin/sh

# start here

echo "About to install macOS 10.13 on $DS_LAST_SELECTED_TARGET"
echo "You will not see any output in the logs until the OS installer is ready to reboot."

/Applications/Install\ macOS\ High\ Sierra.app/Contents/Resources/startosinstall --agreetolicense --nointeraction —applicationpath /Applications/Install\ macOS\ High\ Sierra.app --volume "/Volumes/$DS_LAST_SELECTED_TARGET"

echo "macOS installer has completed.  The system should now reboot itself"

exit 0

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

has anyone tried this yet?

it looks like it would work but this post is the only place i have found any mention about it, just wondering if anyone else has tried to do it or at least have more info about it.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB