You are not logged in.

Announcement

[2017.09.08] DeployStudio build v1.7.8 (checksum, release note).
[2016.08.26] DeployStudio build v1.6.19 (release note).
[2013.02.23] DeployStudio last universal build v1.5.17 (release note).

#1 2017-02-13 12:08:50

Niarf
Member
Registered: 2010-01-11

Update netboot set and upgrade

Hi everyone,

We have a question about updating netboot set.
In http://www.deploystudio.com/Downloads/Extras/DeployStudio_Guide_2.0.pdf, page 29
i see :
"IMPORTANT: Newer versions of DeployStudio will update the
NetBoot set so that it has all the proper updated components and bug fixes inside."

How does it work ?
Is it at first launch after upgrade ?
Can we relaunch that ?

We have some computers which we don't have near our desktops.
If we don't have to redo all netboot sets after each upgrade, that's fine, but, now, it doesn't work for us.
What's wrong ?


Thanks for your help.
N.

Offline

#2 2017-02-15 19:36:44

mjsanders
Member
From: Schiedam, Netherlands
Registered: 2008-09-02
Website

Re: Update netboot set and upgrade

From experience: If you install a newer version of DeployStudio Server on your server, the installer tries to update the DS software inside the .nbi you have on that server.
Usually that fails. If it works, that is only if the difference in version is small.
No big deal, just use the wizard to re-create a fresh DS .nbi !

Tip:
If needed to make a .nbi with a different OS version than your server is; make a .dmg with AutoDMG, mount this image, and use this 'volume' as source for the NetBoot set creation.

Offline

#3 2017-02-15 22:14:58

s10010001
Member
Registered: 2017-02-15

Re: Update netboot set and upgrade

The netboot upgrade always fails for me. I just install DS server on the newest Mac hardware we use and build a new nbi from there. Then just copy it to the server.

But yes in theory it will "upgrade" the NBI in place to be the newest version. my guess is it always fails on me because most of the time my DS upgrade its coming with a macOS upgrade at the same time.

Offline

#4 2017-02-16 22:31:06

Meat
Member
From: SF CA US
Registered: 2009-02-04

Re: Update netboot set and upgrade

That is my experience as well. I'm just in the habit now, of creating a new nbi.

Offline

#5 2017-02-24 11:27:55

jakov
Member
From: Delft, Netherlands
Registered: 2008-04-22

Re: Update netboot set and upgrade

My experience is as follows:
-when I created the previous .nbi on the NetBoot-server, the update works fine: the nbi's are updated to the latest version
-when the previous nbi is created on another Mac and uploaded to the NetBoot-server, the update fails.
However, I think it is a good idea to create a fresh NBI regularly...

Last edited by jakov (2017-03-14 14:57:56)

Offline

#6 2017-08-10 17:51:51

Niarf
Member
Registered: 2010-01-11

Re: Update netboot set and upgrade

Hello all,
I wish to say "thank you" to all members who answered to this topic.
Sorry for the late answer.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB