You are not logged in.

Announcement

[2017.09.08] DeployStudio build v1.7.8 (checksum, release note).
[2016.08.26] DeployStudio build v1.6.19 (release note).
[2013.02.23] DeployStudio last universal build v1.5.17 (release note).

#1 2017-05-26 18:34:11

ebonweaver
Member
Registered: 2015-06-09

DS does not work with 10.12.5??

Pretty serious failure here... Upgraded DS server from 10.11.6 to 10.12.5 and DS no longer works.  DS is on latest 1.7.6, and was reinstalled for good measure.

The problem is it can't find it's own repository for some reason.  Preference pane shows: "Repository access failure, please check the DeployStudio Server configuration with DeployStudio Assistant."
There is no obvious reason for this.  The repo can be mounted remotely by AFP and SMB with no issue.  The server can be accessed by HTTPS with no issue.  Everything was working before the OS update.

Console keeps showing these errors:
default    13:19:08.218488 -0400    DeployStudioServer    localPath[/Search/SharePoints/DSRepo]=(<dscl_cmd> DS Error: -14136 (eDSRecordNotFound))
default    13:19:08.218800 -0400    DeployStudioServer    Mounting repository...
default    13:19:08.218907 -0400    DeployStudioServer    -> mountCommand: undefined
default    13:19:08.218974 -0400    DeployStudioServer    -> pathToMountPoint: undefined
default    13:19:08.219070 -0400    DeployStudioServer    -> pathToRepository: undefined
default    13:19:08.219192 -0400    DeployStudioServer    Invalid repository path, mount failed...
default    13:19:08.219256 -0400    DeployStudioServer    Status=3
default    13:19:08.219342 -0400    DeployStudioServer    DeployStudioServer will retry to mount the repository in 30s...

This seems to indicate that DS was never updated to be compatible with 10.12 or a recent update changed some of the system commands it was using previously?  It's been over 4 months since there was an update to DS after all...

Running through the assistant to set up the master hits the same wall at the Repository Settings step ("The defined repository can not be mounted. Please check your settings"), again despite the fact that it's entirely reachable from other systems.  Console shows these errors (with server info [removed]):

default    13:29:48.889761 -0400    DeployStudio Assistant    temporaryMountCommandForHostWithAddresses:("[removed]") (repository server=[removed])
default    13:29:48.941619 -0400    DeployStudio Assistant    shareRecordName=(DSRepo)
default    13:29:48.975292 -0400    DeployStudio Assistant    localPath[/Search/SharePoints/DSRepo]=(<dscl_cmd> DS Error: -14136 (eDSRecordNotFound))
default    13:29:48.975593 -0400    DeployStudio Assistant    Mounting repository with server [removed]...
default    13:29:48.975647 -0400    DeployStudio Assistant    Checking repository path existence ((null))...
default    13:29:48.975695 -0400    DeployStudio Assistant    -> mountCommand: undefined
default    13:29:48.975748 -0400    DeployStudio Assistant    -> pathToMountPoint: undefined
default    13:29:48.975806 -0400    DeployStudio Assistant    -> pathToRepository: undefined

Any ideas how to get this fixed?

Offline

#2 2017-05-26 21:19:47

ebonweaver
Member
Registered: 2015-06-09

Re: DS does not work with 10.12.5??

It appears this is a bug in DS that has been around for at least 4 years and never been fixed (based on old threads).  It seems there are two conditions regarding the share used for the repository for no clear reason:
1. The share must be made AFTER you install Deploy Studio
2. If you upgrade the OS, you MUST delete and re-make the share
There is no good reason for this since the shares work fine in every way, it's just that DS can't see them properly for some reason unless you follow these rules.  I assume it's somehow wrapped up in the whole "the OS can't open a connection to its own file shares and yet that's exactly what DS is doing" thing.  While that still logically makes no sense in the upgrade scenario... there it is.  Delete and remake the share, no need to re-configure DS, it just is suddenly able to find itself again after that.
Really seems like this needs a bug fix, or at least a prominent FAQ.

Offline

#3 2017-05-26 22:48:01

Meat
Member
From: SF CA US
Registered: 2009-02-04

Re: DS does not work with 10.12.5??

To be clear. You do not have to delete the shared folder that contains the repository. You just need to remove the share from Server.app and add that same folder again as a share.

edit: And it isn't "always" required. I just updated a 10.12.4 server to 10.12.5, and Server.app to 5.3.1. I did not have to reshare the repository.
I guess it depends on which version of the OS you were previously on...

Last edited by Meat (2017-05-26 23:05:09)

Offline

#4 2017-06-02 02:10:38

Glaic
Member
Registered: 2015-08-05

Re: DS does not work with 10.12.5??

> ebonweaver wrote:

> It appears this is a bug in DS that has been around for at least 4 years and never been fixed (based on old threads).  It seems there are two conditions regarding the share used for the repository for no clear reason:
1. The share must be made AFTER you install Deploy Studio
2. If you upgrade the OS, you MUST delete and re-make the share
There is no good reason for this since the shares work fine in every way, it's just that DS can't see them properly for some reason unless you follow these rules.  I assume it's somehow wrapped up in the whole "the OS can't open a connection to its own file shares and yet that's exactly what DS is doing" thing.  While that still logically makes no sense in the upgrade scenario... there it is.  Delete and remake the share, no need to re-configure DS, it just is suddenly able to find itself again after that.
Really seems like this needs a bug fix, or at least a prominent FAQ.

Why isn't this in bright red bold size 14 text as a sticky somewhere? Seriously, it needs to be in the patch notes or something..

I've just tested it and it does appear to have resolved an issue I have had after upgrading from 10.7.5 to Sierra 10.12.x and updating DS 50 1.7.6

Cheers,
/Glaic

Offline

#5 2017-06-02 18:06:30

Meat
Member
From: SF CA US
Registered: 2009-02-04

Re: DS does not work with 10.12.5??

Possibly because it's an OS X Server issue, and not a DeployStudio Server specific thing?
I don't know for sure. Just throwing that out there.

I do agree that a note could probably be put in the release notes as it does impact DeployStudio, but the issue has been brought up a couple of times in the past on the forum here.
A search of the forum, for "upgrade 10.12" would result in at least one result in the top 10 returned topics covering the unshare/reshare solution.

The OP asked anyway, and got an answer within a couple of hours.

Offline

#6 2017-06-05 22:48:23

MinimalMac
Member
Registered: 2017-04-05

Re: DS does not work with 10.12.5??

If you foolishly recreated your netboot set while this wasn't working, you may find that you need to recreate the share then recreate the netboot set to make it work.  Yargh.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB