You are not logged in.

Announcement

[2017.09.08] DeployStudio build v1.7.8 (checksum, release note).
[2016.08.26] DeployStudio build v1.6.19 (release note).
[2013.02.23] DeployStudio last universal build v1.5.17 (release note).

#1 2016-06-13 16:45:28

Willbe90
Member
Registered: 2015-04-21

DS 1.7.3 Masters saving into tmp Folder and not HFS

I installed the newest DS and had to recreate the server. Everything seems to work, and the netboot of El Capitan seems to boot properly. The issue I'm having is when I create a Master Image, it is saving into the tmp folder and no the HFS folder (netbook seems to look into the HFS folder located in the Masters folder) to load the images. I have to move the Master Image into the HFS folder so it is visible when restoring a computer.


I am not sure how to change this (I doubt this is attributing to the slowness of the imaged machines, but I would like to rule everything out).

Offline

#2 2016-06-14 18:14:08

Meat
Member
From: SF CA US
Registered: 2009-02-04

Re: DS 1.7.3 Masters saving into tmp Folder and not HFS

After the image is copied up to the server, log into the server and peruse the system log (/var/log/system.log), starting a few minutes before the image copy completed, for references to DeployStudio, diskutil, or copy operations involving the temp directory, or HFS masters folder.

Let us know if/what you find?

Offline

#3 2016-06-15 15:41:19

meca62793
Member
Registered: 2015-11-06

Re: DS 1.7.3 Masters saving into tmp Folder and not HFS

This happens to me occasionally as well on the last few builds of deploy studio, I have just moved it from the tmp folder to the hfs folder with no issues.

Offline

#4 2016-07-14 13:40:52

greend
Member
Registered: 2008-12-10

Re: DS 1.7.3 Masters saving into tmp Folder and not HFS

Has anyone figured out what the issue is here? I am having the same problem on both my servers, one is 10.11.5 and the other is 10.8.5. Both running  ds 1.7.4.1.

They put the image in a tmp folder on the computer I am making the image from. no one has touched the server to change permissions on my repository nor has anyone touched my directory structure.

Thanks for any help.

Debbie

Offline

#5 2016-07-21 13:37:03

chmorelock
Member
Registered: 2016-03-31

Re: DS 1.7.3 Masters saving into tmp Folder and not HFS

I am having a similar problem.  Anyone found a fix?

Offline

#6 2016-07-27 15:22:53

chmorelock
Member
Registered: 2016-03-31

Re: DS 1.7.3 Masters saving into tmp Folder and not HFS

Same issue.  Anything new?

Offline

#7 2016-08-01 21:48:56

chmorelock
Member
Registered: 2016-03-31

Re: DS 1.7.3 Masters saving into tmp Folder and not HFS

Found a resolution to this, at least for me.  Under the workflow for capturing the image, uncheck the box "Try to create intermediate files on a local volume to preserve network data".  This seemed to fix the problem for me.

Offline

#8 2016-12-02 19:57:13

bgwilkes
Member
Registered: 2012-08-08

Re: DS 1.7.3 Masters saving into tmp Folder and not HFS

I have the same issue. Creating masters, the workflow reports successful completion, but the image is not moved from the tmp to HFS folder. Moving it manually does not cause it to be recognized in the list of masters. I tried unchecking "create intermediate files on a local volume," but this just resulted in a larger image (from the same disk), but it still isn't moved or recognized. Running DS server 1.7.5 on Mac OS 10.11.6 Server, netbooting, repository is on a separate drive and is shared via afp (was getting access errors with smb).

Offline

#9 2016-12-02 22:27:57

Meat
Member
From: SF CA US
Registered: 2009-02-04

Re: DS 1.7.3 Masters saving into tmp Folder and not HFS

Once the image has been copied into temp, the server may or may not be set to rescan the image.
If the server is configured to rescan new images, that can take some time. If the rescan fails, it will remain in the temp folder.

You can either manually scan the image for restore (an option in the server's Disk Utility, historically) then manually move it to the appropriate Masters folder, or try toggling the server to see if it will retry the scan (I vaguely recall that was an option under these circumstances, or a mystical "refresh" command key combination).

The display of available images does not refresh automagically in DeployStudio Admin. You may need to switch away from the Workflow's section (to Activity, for example) then back to workflows. Then there is the brute force - quit and relaunch DeployStudio Admin.

Offline

#10 2016-12-05 20:46:34

bgwilkes
Member
Registered: 2012-08-08

Re: DS 1.7.3 Masters saving into tmp Folder and not HFS

No, this goes beyond scanning for restore. I've now (re)scanned my test images and moved them manually to the HFS folder, but even after restarting the server process and re-connecting with DS Admin, they don't show up in the Masters list. This is a new server and a new problem: the previous server always moved images and recognized them. (That one still shows its existing masters while running DS 1.75, but I haven't tried making new ones since it was upgraded.)

Edit: I moved a master image over from my other server, where it shows up, and it also is not recognized. Folder permissions on the HFS folder appear similar to my other server; does anyone know what could prevent admin from seeing the contents?

Last edited by bgwilkes (2016-12-06 02:55:29)

Offline

#11 2016-12-06 10:08:38

mjsanders
Member
From: Schiedam, Netherlands
Registered: 2008-09-02
Website

Re: DS 1.7.3 Masters saving into tmp Folder and not HFS

@bgwilkes: is the image naming correct?
images must end with *.hfs.dmg, typically xxxx.i386.hfs.dmg and xxxx.i386.recovery.dmg (if applicable) and by in the Masters/HFS/ folder
if in doubt if the GUI gives the right information, stop and start the deploystudio server (deamon) in System Preferences - DeployStudio to be sure it is refreshed.

Last edited by mjsanders (2016-12-06 10:09:09)

Offline

#12 2016-12-06 19:48:57

Meat
Member
From: SF CA US
Registered: 2009-02-04

Re: DS 1.7.3 Masters saving into tmp Folder and not HFS

It appears there is one issue with two different results being discussed in this thread.
The issue being image captures remaining in the tmp folder.

Result 1) The original poster indicates he can move them to the HFS folder and everything is fine then (except for the annoyance factor).

Result 2) Others can move the image/s to the HFS folder but they don't show up in DeployStudio Admin.
bgwilkes, the next test I'd do is to stop DeployStudio Server, unshare the repository folder, create and share a new repository folder (different name), then configure DeployStudio Server.

Offline

#13 2016-12-06 23:57:03

bgwilkes
Member
Registered: 2012-08-08

Re: DS 1.7.3 Masters saving into tmp Folder and not HFS

Sorry if I split the thread—I originally thought my problem was the result of the workflow not completing. But even unsharing the old repository, sharing a new one, and setting up DS Server to point to it doesn't change the result: image files are not recognized and shown in the list of masters. (Moving the image file over to my other server, it appears in the list of masters after a moment.)

Last edited by bgwilkes (2016-12-07 20:11:15)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB