You are not logged in.

Announcement

[2017.09.08] DeployStudio build v1.7.8 (checksum, release note).
[2016.08.26] DeployStudio build v1.6.19 (release note).
[2013.02.23] DeployStudio last universal build v1.5.17 (release note).

#1 2016-02-24 22:13:55

lccmactech
Member
From: Eugene, OR
Registered: 2012-01-11

upgraded to DS1.7.2 now I am experiencing Repository access Error

Repository access Error - an error occurred while mounting the repository share point...

My set up:
OS X 10.10.5 (Build 14F1605) Macmini5,2
Server 5.0.15 (Build 15S4033)
DeployStudio 1.7.2
Repository on external HD interfaced via Thunderbolt to the mac mini.  Use network disk option with afp:// link to the Volume with the repository on it.  No problems with this in the past.

I ran the prescribed DS Admin Server set up and created the new NetBoot Set.  From what I can tell all the File Sharing settings are configured appropriately. 
I can successfully File Share to the repository from any mac in my realm with the appropriate credentials.


I attempted to roll back to DS v1.6.8 with no luck of resolution.
OSX and Server App were not upgraded or modified since the attempt of updating DeployStudio. 
I have attempted multiple NetBoot sets that correspond with the appropriate DS version and enabled and disabled File Sharing and NetInsall Services and rebooted multiple times.

I am entirely stuck.  Please help!

Offline

#2 2016-02-25 10:27:38

JonathanG
Member
Registered: 2014-09-02

Re: upgraded to DS1.7.2 now I am experiencing Repository access Error

Did you read the release notes of DS 1.7.X about upgrading from 1.6.X ?

Assistant
– when upgrading from DSS v1.6.x, you will need to run the Assistant server setup to update the different configuration passwords (ex: repository sharepoint credentials, default Runtime login, …).

Offline

#3 2016-02-25 17:17:41

lccmactech
Member
From: Eugene, OR
Registered: 2012-01-11

Re: upgraded to DS1.7.2 now I am experiencing Repository access Error

Hi, Thanks for the reply.  Yes I absolutely ran the DS Admin setup as previously stated.  I did this multiple times along with completely uninstalling DS and reinstalling.  I also did a complete uninstall and attempted roll back to version 1.6.8 and rolled back to previous compatible Netboot sets.  I think the next step may be to reinstall OSX and server app, reinstall DS and hope that it will successful adopt the repository on my external disk.  If that does not work, I guess I will archive the contents of my repository format that disk and do a complete from scratch set up.

Offline

#4 2016-02-25 20:14:25

lccmactech
Member
From: Eugene, OR
Registered: 2012-01-11

Re: upgraded to DS1.7.2 now I am experiencing Repository access Error

Here is the log file.  Still looking for help or to share in the event it could be helpful to others.  Cheers.

2016-02-24 13:41:46.388 DeployStudio Runtime.bin[301:6512] ====================================================================================================
2016-02-24 13:41:46.388 DeployStudio Runtime.bin[301:6512] DeployStudio Runtime
2016-02-24 13:41:46.394 DeployStudio Runtime.bin[301:6512] DSCore.framework version 1.7.2 (b160127), Copyright 2016 The DeployStudio Team.
2016-02-24 13:41:46.396 DeployStudio Runtime.bin[301:6512] MAC address: 10:9a:dd:49:f7:89
2016-02-24 13:41:46.437 DeployStudio Runtime.bin[301:6512] Network address: 10.7.131.197 (mac-c07dt1zldd6l.local)
2016-02-24 13:41:46.462 DeployStudio Runtime.bin[301:6512] Network interface speed: AUTOSELECT (1000BASET <FULL-DUPLEX>)
2016-02-24 13:41:46.489 DeployStudio Runtime.bin[301:6512] Operating System: Mac OS X Version 10.11.1 (Build 15B42)
2016-02-24 13:41:46.490 DeployStudio Runtime.bin[301:6512] Date: 16/02/24 13:41:46
2016-02-24 13:41:46.490 DeployStudio Runtime.bin[301:6512] ====================================================================================================
2016-02-24 13:41:47.204 DeployStudio Runtime.bin[301:6512] 24 plugins were successfully loaded!
2016-02-24 13:41:48.496 DeployStudio Runtime.bin[301:6555] The user 'deployadmin' was successfully authenticated.
2016-02-24 13:41:48.523 DeployStudio Runtime.bin[301:6512] Connected to server woodstock.lanecc.edu (1.7.2)
2016-02-24 13:41:48.701 DeployStudio Runtime.bin[301:6555] Checking server reachability (server=woodstock.lanecc.edu port=548) ...
2016-02-24 13:41:48.751 DeployStudio Runtime.bin[301:6555] Mounting repository share point...
2016-02-24 13:41:48.752 DeployStudio Runtime.bin[301:6555] /bin/mkdir /tmp/DSNetworkRepository 2>&1
2016-02-24 13:41:48.772 DeployStudio Runtime.bin[301:6555] /bin/chmod 777 /tmp/DSNetworkRepository 2>&1
2016-02-24 13:41:48.792 DeployStudio Runtime.bin[301:6555] /bin/chmod 777 /tmp/DSNetworkRepository 2>&1
2016-02-24 13:41:48.812 DeployStudio Runtime.bin[301:6555] Mount call...
2016-02-24 13:41:50.168 DeployStudio Runtime.bin[301:6555] mount_afp: AFPMountURL returned error 2, errno is 2
2016-02-24 13:41:50.172 DeployStudio Runtime.bin[301:6555] Parsing result...
2016-02-24 13:41:50.191 DeployStudio Runtime.bin[301:6555] Mount failed cleaning local mount point...
2016-02-24 13:41:50.191 DeployStudio Runtime.bin[301:6555] /bin/rmdir /tmp/DSNetworkRepository 2>&1
2016-02-24 13:41:50.360 DeployStudio Runtime.bin[301:6555] Checking server reachability (server=10.1.0.169 port=548) ...
2016-02-24 13:41:50.403 DeployStudio Runtime.bin[301:6555] Mounting repository share point...
2016-02-24 13:41:50.404 DeployStudio Runtime.bin[301:6555] /bin/mkdir /tmp/DSNetworkRepository 2>&1
2016-02-24 13:41:50.422 DeployStudio Runtime.bin[301:6555] /bin/chmod 777 /tmp/DSNetworkRepository 2>&1
2016-02-24 13:41:50.441 DeployStudio Runtime.bin[301:6555] /bin/chmod 777 /tmp/DSNetworkRepository 2>&1
2016-02-24 13:41:50.459 DeployStudio Runtime.bin[301:6555] Mount call...
2016-02-24 13:41:50.653 DeployStudio Runtime.bin[301:6555] mount_afp: AFPMountURL returned error 2, errno is 2
2016-02-24 13:41:50.656 DeployStudio Runtime.bin[301:6555] Parsing result...
2016-02-24 13:41:50.675 DeployStudio Runtime.bin[301:6555] Mount failed cleaning local mount point...
2016-02-24 13:41:50.675 DeployStudio Runtime.bin[301:6555] /bin/rmdir /tmp/DSNetworkRepository 2>&1
2016-02-24 13:44:27.786 DeployStudio Runtime.bin[301:6554] Communications error: <OS_xpc_error: <error: 0x10dd20c90> { count = 1, contents =
    "XPCErrorDescription" => <string: 0x10dd20f78> { length = 18, contents = "Connection invalid" }
}>
2016-02-24 13:44:27.787 DeployStudio Runtime.bin[301:6512] --error: [ShareKit] error calling +[NSExtension extensionsWithMatchingAttributes:error:]: Error Domain=PlugInKit Code=4 "Connection invalid" UserInfo={NSLocalizedDescription=Connection invalid}
2016-02-24 13:44:27.787 DeployStudio Runtime.bin[301:6512] --error: [ShareKit] error calling +[NSExtension extensionsWithMatchingAttributes:error:]: Error Domain=PlugInKit Code=4 "Connection invalid" UserInfo={NSLocalizedDescription=Connection invalid}
2016-02-24 13:50:30.304 DeployStudio Runtime.bin[301:6512] --error: [ShareKit] error calling +[NSExtension extensionsWithMatchingAttributes:error:]: Error Domain=PlugInKit Code=4 "Connection invalid" UserInfo={NSLocalizedDescription=Connection invalid}
2016-02-24 13:50:30.304 DeployStudio Runtime.bin[301:6512] --error: [ShareKit] error calling +[NSExtension extensionsWithMatchingAttributes:error:]: Error Domain=PlugInKit Code=4 "Connection invalid" UserInfo={NSLocalizedDescription=Connection invalid}

Offline

#5 2016-02-25 22:48:14

Meat
Member
From: SF CA US
Registered: 2009-02-04

Re: upgraded to DS1.7.2 now I am experiencing Repository access Error

Possibly unshare, then reshare the repository from within Server.app?
Probably not necessary, since the OS was not updated, but it only takes a minute, so...

Offline

#6 2016-02-25 22:51:44

fiavvek
Member
Registered: 2015-03-11

Re: upgraded to DS1.7.2 now I am experiencing Repository access Error

Stupid question: I am guessing you can connect to it as your server is on a 10.1.x.y IP address and your client is on 10.7.a.b under the NetBoot image or is this something you have not tried?

We use 192.168.5.x IP addresses where I work but our workplace is tiny in comparison to your institution!

Offline

#7 2016-02-26 00:12:14

lccmactech
Member
From: Eugene, OR
Registered: 2012-01-11

Re: upgraded to DS1.7.2 now I am experiencing Repository access Error

Meat, thanks.  Yes, tried this a few times now.  No suck luck :(

fiavvek, thanks.  I can connect to the server and DeployStudio Runtime with no problem. DS Runtime just can't access the Repository on my server. FYI, We have the network infrastructure set up to Netboot and access this DS server across subnets and VLANs.

Offline

#8 2016-02-26 00:37:26

lccmactech
Member
From: Eugene, OR
Registered: 2012-01-11

Re: upgraded to DS1.7.2 now I am experiencing Repository access Error

Here is the link to error.  Guess I should have posted this in my first May Day call.  Thanks all!

https://drive.google.com/a/lanecc.edu/file/d/0Bzck8D0JafcgV1BsYzRYeEtGTEk/view?usp=sharing

Offline

#9 2016-04-20 09:01:41

electricart
Member
Registered: 2013-09-26

Re: upgraded to DS1.7.2 now I am experiencing Repository access Error

We have the same problem unfortunately. Upgraded to 1.7.3 and am now getting the Repository Access Error when trying to set up DeployStudio with the assistant.

Previously it worked in the same configuration with 1.6.8 so tried downgrading, unfortunately now still have the same error. Also tried completely uninstalling and reinstalling Deploystudio, problem is still there.

Can connect fine to the repository using 'Connect to Server...' in the Finder.

We're connecting to a CIFS share located on a different server. We've tried both CIFS and SMB as the connection protocol, same problem either way. Not had a problem before upgrading to 1.7.3.

The only information I can find in the console under DeployStudio gives no indication of error;

20/04/2016 5:43:10.186 pm DeployStudio Assistant[639]: temporaryMountCommandForHostWithAddresses:(
    "192.168.1.23"
) (repository server=192.168.1.10/192.168.1.10)
20/04/2016 5:43:10.187 pm DeployStudio Assistant[639]: Mounting repository with server 192.168.1.10 (192.168.1.23)...
20/04/2016 5:43:10.187 pm DeployStudio Assistant[639]: Checking server reachability (server=192.168.1.10 port=445) ...
20/04/2016 5:43:11.247 pm DeployStudio Assistant[639]: -> mountCommand: {
    arguments =     (
        "-o",
        nobrowse,
        "//username:password@192.168.1.10/Installs",
        "/tmp/DSTemporaryMount"
    );
    command = "/sbin/mount_smbfs";
}
20/04/2016 5:43:11.247 pm DeployStudio Assistant[639]: -> pathToMountPoint: /tmp/DSTemporaryMount
20/04/2016 5:43:11.248 pm DeployStudio Assistant[639]: -> pathToRepository: /tmp/DSTemporaryMount/deploystudio

In fact, I can take the address that DeployStudio is trying to connect to straight from the log, copy and paste it into the 'Connect to Server...' dialog in the Finder and it connects fine.

Any help on this matter would be greatly appreciated. Tried everything I could think of so far.

Offline

#10 2016-04-21 03:44:29

electricart
Member
Registered: 2013-09-26

Re: upgraded to DS1.7.2 now I am experiencing Repository access Error

Ok, so I was able to get through the assistant with a workaround. Maybe this will help someone else.

I basically took the commands from the console log that DeployStudio Assistant lists and ran it myself in a terminal window.

E.g.

mkdir /tmp/DSTemporaryMount
/sbin/mount_smbfs -o nobrowse  "//username:password@ServerAddress/ShareName" "/tmp/DSTemporaryMount"

After that I was able to make it through the Assistant. Unfortunately the DeployStudio service still won't start up and fails with the Repository error.

Is there somewhere else I can look to find more info about what's going on? I can't seem to find a log file anywhere that relates specifically to the DeployStudio service, only the runtime....

Offline

#11 2016-12-09 19:46:15

gskibum
Member
Registered: 2016-12-08

Re: upgraded to DS1.7.2 now I am experiencing Repository access Error

I had the exact same problem. It started a couple of months ago and I spent considerable time trying to resolve it, taking many of the same steps as you. I looked in on this thread before rolling up my sleeves again last night.

Well somehow got it working. All I did this time was start off by running Software Update from the MAS.

The updates that got applied are XCode 8.1, iTunes 12.5.3, Safari Version 10.0.1 (11602.2.14.0.7), and the latest security update.

Last edited by gskibum (2016-12-09 19:46:34)

Offline

#12 2016-12-16 23:36:45

Meat
Member
From: SF CA US
Registered: 2009-02-04

Re: upgraded to DS1.7.2 now I am experiencing Repository access Error

gskibum, you don't mention what version of the OS the server is running.
I wonder if this isn't the result of installing an OS related update (security updates count, I presume), as I think 10.11+ is where repairing permissions for OS installation is only performed at update time, or manually via commandline...

Offline

#13 2016-12-16 23:38:28

gskibum
Member
Registered: 2016-12-08

Re: upgraded to DS1.7.2 now I am experiencing Repository access Error

Ah good point. The server is running El Capitan 10.11.6.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB