You are not logged in.

Announcement

[2017.09.08] DeployStudio build v1.7.8 (checksum, release note).
[2016.08.26] DeployStudio build v1.6.19 (release note).
[2013.02.23] DeployStudio last universal build v1.5.17 (release note).

#1 2007-11-29 14:00:01

IMUS
Member
Registered: 2007-11-28

Create Master from a volume

Hi,

I 've just discover your solution, and I can boot with the netboot, but when I try to create a Master, I have some problems:
- The data means to be clearly transferred on the server, but into this Directory :
        /Images/Masters/WorkInProgress, where /Images is my Repository
   And, the extension of the different Masters files are : .spareimage, and they don't appear into the Masters section of DeployStudio Admin.

- Extract from the log : -> Image action completed.
  imaging successfull (elapsed time: 41.40 minutes)


Secondly, when I try to 'Restore a master on a volume', I need to put the master filename in the workflows, after I've got some error :
- Extract from log :
  >> Volume(s) mounted successfully
  '/tmp/DSNetworkRepository/Masters/HFS/Master1.i386.sparseimage' size: 11610.0 MB
  '/Volumes/_DS_DEV_DISK_X_' size: 238147.1 MB
    "/usr/sbin/disktool" -A /dev/disk0s2 2>&1
    >> Adopting volinfo database device /dev/disk0s2
    >> Displaying volinfo database device /dev/disk0s2.  permissions = 1
    setting boot device to '/dev/disk0s2'.
    "/usr/sbin/asr" restore --source /tmp/DSNetworkRepository/Masters/HFS/Master1.i386.sparseimage --target /dev/disk0s2 --erase --noprompt 2>&1
    >>     Validating target...done
    Validating source...done
Could not open resources for image "/tmp/DSNetworkRepository/Masters/HFS/Master1.i386.sparseimage"
Could not find any scan information. The source image needs to be imagescanned/scanned for restore
    "/Applications/Utilities/DeployStudio Admin.app/Contents/Resources/Runtime.app/Contents/Frameworks/DSCore.framework/Resources/Tools/macosxcleanup.sh" -postrestoration /Volumes/_DS_DEV_DISK_X_ 2>&1
    >> Running macosxcleanup.sh v1.0
    >> Exiting macosxcleanup.sh v1.0
    setting startup volume to '_DS_DEV_DISK_X_'.
    "/bin/chmod" 1775 /Volumes/_DS_DEV_DISK_X_ 2>&1
    "/usr/sbin/chown" root:admin /Volumes/_DS_DEV_DISK_X_ 2>&1
    "/Applications/Utilities/DeployStudio Admin.app/Contents/Resources/Runtime.app/Contents/Frameworks/DSCore.framework/Resources"/Scripts/ds_fix_ByHost_prefs.sh _DS_DEV_DISK_X_ 2>&1
    >> ds_fix_ByHost_prefs.sh - v1.3 (Thu Nov 29 12:54:28 UTC 2007)
    >> 0 files were renamed
    >> ds_fix_ByHost_prefs.sh - end
-> Restore action completed.
  restoration successfull (elapsed time: 0.23 minutes)

If someone can help myself.

Thanks

Offline

#2 2007-11-29 22:19:27

admin
Administrator
Registered: 2007-03-29
Website

Re: Create Master from a volume

Hi, the normal process is the following:
1/ Runtime creates the sparseimage in the WorkInProgress folder
2/ Runtime asks DeployStudioServer to post process the sparseimage and quits
3/ DeployStudioServer daemon converts the sparseimage to the target format (read only or compressed)
4/ DeployStudioServer scans the resulting dmg file to be restorable
5/ DeployStudioServer moves the dmg file to the HFS folder is everything is ok

So when Runtime says that the imaging was successful, it does not mean that the image is immediately available as the server still working on.

So, there are 2 possibilities:
1/ you did not wait enough
2/ an error occurred on the server during the post-treatment

Please look the /tmp/DeployStudioServer.log file to understand what is happening on the server side.

Offline

#3 2007-11-30 10:13:23

IMUS
Member
Registered: 2007-11-28

Re: Create Master from a volume

Hello,
Thanks for your answer.

Now, I can see what is the problem on my server :

-MastersConvertEntry
    "/usr/bin/hdiutil" convert -format UDZO -o /Images/Masters/WorkInProgress/Test2.i386.hfs.dmg /Images/Masters/WorkInProgress/Test2.i386.sparseimage 2>&1
    >> hdiutil: convert failed - Ressources temporairement indisponibles  <<<< Temporarely unavaible ressources
  file "/Images/Masters/WorkInProgress/Test2.i386.hfs.dmg" not found (conversion from sparse to UDZO failed)!

But I don't know why I ve got this message because when I try this command into a ternimal have got no error.

Offline

#4 2007-11-30 12:13:13

admin
Administrator
Registered: 2007-03-29
Website

Re: Create Master from a volume

This is weird... we'll do some testing today.

Offline

#5 2007-11-30 15:27:25

LaurentP
Member
Registered: 2007-11-30

Re: Create Master from a volume

Hello,
I have exactly the same problem.

I've tried to convert manually the sparseimage into dmg using the command shown in the log file, but i have the same error.
I've noticed that the image was still mounted on my desktop so it was unavailable for conversion.

I just dismounted it and it work fine via command line. I'll try to make another test using DeployStudio and check for the logs. Perhaps the application doesn't dismount automatically the image after creation.

hope this would help.

Laurent

Offline

#6 2007-11-30 17:12:07

admin
Administrator
Registered: 2007-03-29
Website

Re: Create Master from a volume

I've not tried on a local machine, just in netboot mode.
DeployStudioServer starts the conversion before the disk image is completely released by the system.
I've changed the process to retry several times with a period of 15s. Testing is in progress.

Offline

#7 2007-11-30 17:12:49

admin
Administrator
Registered: 2007-03-29
Website

Re: Create Master from a volume

It works fine with a leopard Netboot image on a Tiger server.

Offline

#8 2007-12-01 00:19:50

admin
Administrator
Registered: 2007-03-29
Website

Re: Create Master from a volume

It is fixed in beta13. This is a server fix, no need to rebuild the netboot set.

Offline

#9 2007-12-03 16:14:33

IMUS
Member
Registered: 2007-11-28

Re: Create Master from a volume

Hi,
Thanks for your rapid answer, but I already have the same problem :
My log :
-MastersConvertEntry
    >> Running safehdiutilconvert.sh v1.0
    >> /usr/bin/hdiutil convert -format UDZO -o "/Images/Masters/WorkInProgress/beta13.i386.hfs.dmg" "/Images/Masters/WorkInProgress/beta13.i386.sparseimage"
    >> hdiutil: convert failed - Ressources temporairement indisponibles
    >> An error occured while converting "/Images/Masters/WorkInProgress/beta13.i386.hfs.dmg", retrying in 30 seconds...

I don't know why the program don't release the share.

If someone had an idea.

Thanks again.

Offline

#10 2007-12-03 17:56:33

IMUS
Member
Registered: 2007-11-28

Re: Create Master from a volume

Hi,

THANK YOU very much !

Now, I know my problem :  I want go too fast ;)

I've just waiting and the image file was create at the second try of the safehdiutilconvert.sh.

Thanks again for your software and your fastness.

Offline

#11 2007-12-03 20:05:40

admin
Administrator
Registered: 2007-03-29
Website

Re: Create Master from a volume

Thanks for your feedback, safehdiutilconvert.sh was just added to beta13 to fix the issue.
It will retry 10 times before aborting (with a pause of 30s between each tentative).

Offline

#12 2007-12-27 15:11:45

gsandoz
Member
Registered: 2007-12-27

Re: Create Master from a volume

Hi, same problem with beta 16 onto leopard serveur.
The sparseimage stay in use until i manually unmount the image to the trash.
the safehdiutilconvert.sh failed.
see the log:
I have to launch manually the script after ejecting the image.

Merci de me r?pondre Alex, sinon, ?a marche super :-)


  >> /usr/bin/hdiutil convert -format UDZO -o "/DSRepository/Masters/WorkInProgress/0019e3e841ea_MasterTigerYin_Intel_07.12.27_12.00.i386.hfs.dmg" "/DSRepository/Masters/WorkInProgress/0019e3e841ea_MasterTigerYin_Intel_07.12.27_12.00.i386.sparseimage"
    >> hdiutil: convert failed - Ressources temporairement indisponibles
    >> An error occured while converting "/DSRepository/Masters/WorkInProgress/0019e3e841ea_MasterTigerYin_Intel_07.12.27_12.00.i386.hfs.dmg", retrying in 30 seconds...
    >> /usr/bin/hdiutil convert -format UDZO -o "/DSRepository/Masters/WorkInProgress/0019e3e841ea_MasterTigerYin_Intel_07.12.27_12.00.i386.hfs.dmg" "/DSRepository/Masters/WorkInProgress/0019e3e841ea_MasterTigerYin_Intel_07.12.27_12.00.i386.sparseimage"
    >> hdiutil: convert failed - Ressources temporairement indisponibles
    >> Failed to convert "/DSRepository/Masters/WorkInProgress/0019e3e841ea_MasterTigerYin_Intel_07.12.27_12.00.i386.sparseimage", aborting...
    >> Exiting safehdiutilconvert.sh v1.0
  file "/DSRepository/Masters/WorkInProgress/0019e3e841ea_MasterTigerYin_Intel_07.12.27_12.00.i386.hfs.dmg" not found (conversion from sparse to UDZO failed)!

Offline

#13 2008-01-10 09:03:39

goudal
Member
Registered: 2008-01-09

Re: Create Master from a volume

I have the same problem on b17 .
I let the job run this night.
THis morning I had a window asking for admin password,
than the window : job completed.
In the end I have the sparse image in the WorkInProgress.

Here is the log :



Running workflow: 'Create a master from a volume' (040622200000)
Image action:
  '/Volumes/peche' used: 75210.2 MB
  '/Volumes/peche' free: 27932.6 MB
  '/Volumes/LaCie/Images/Masters/WorkInProgress' free: 221881.8 MB
    /usr/sbin/disktool (
    "-A",
    "/dev/disk2s10"
)
    >> Adopting volinfo database device /dev/disk2s10
    >> Displaying volinfo database device /dev/disk2s10.  permissions = 1
    setting boot device to '/dev/disk2s10'.
    /usr/sbin/disktool (
    "-A",
    "/dev/disk1s6"
)
    >> Adopting volinfo database device /dev/disk1s6
    >> Displaying volinfo database device /dev/disk1s6.  permissions = 1
    "/usr/bin/hdiutil" create -ov /Volumes/LaCie/Images/Masters/WorkInProgress/0016cba70078_peche_08.01.09_17.22.i386.sparseimage -volname\ peche -size 75466m -type SPARSE -fs HFS+J -stretch 512g -layout NONE 2>&1
    >> created: /Volumes/LaCie/Images/Masters/WorkInProgress/0016cba70078_peche_08.01.09_17.22.i386.sparseimage
    "/bin/mkdir" /tmp/DSImagingMount 2>&1
    "/bin/chmod" 777 /tmp/DSImagingMount 2>&1
    /sbin/mount (
    "-t",
    hfs,
    "/dev/disk3",
    "/tmp/DSImagingMount"
)
    /usr/sbin/disktool (
    "-r"
)
    >> Refreshing Disk Arbitration ...
    /usr/sbin/disktool (
    "-A",
    disk3
)
    >> Adopting volinfo database device disk3
    >> Displaying volinfo database device disk3.  permissions = 1
    /Applications/Utilities/DeployStudio Admin.app/Contents/Resources/Runtime.app/Contents/Frameworks/DSCore.framework/Resources/Tools/mac\osxcleanup.sh (
    "-preimaging",
    "/Volumes/peche"
)
    >> Running macosxcleanup.sh v1.0
    >> Exiting macosxcleanup.sh v1.0
    /usr/sbin/asr (
    restore,
    "--source",
    "/dev/disk2s10",
    "--target",
    "/tmp/DSImagingMount",
    "--noprompt"
)
    >>     /bin/chmod (
    1775,
    "/tmp/DSImagingMount"
)
    /usr/sbin/chown (
    "root:admin",
    "/tmp/DSImagingMount"
)
    /sbin/umount (
    "-f",
    "/tmp/DSImagingMount"
)
    "/bin/rm" -f /tmp/DSImagingMount/.autodiskmounted 2>&1
    "/bin/rm" -f /tmp/DSImagingMount/.autodiskmounted 2>&1
    "/bin/rmdir" /tmp/DSImagingMount 2>&1
    >> rmdir: /tmp/DSImagingMount: Resource busy
    "/bin/rm" -f /Volumes/LaCie/Images/Masters/WorkInProgress/0016cba70078_peche_08.01.09_17.22.i386.hfs.dmg 2>&1
-> Image action completed.
  imaging successfull (elapsed time: 931.29 minutes)

Offline

#14 2008-01-10 09:16:36

goudal
Member
Registered: 2008-01-09

Re: Create Master from a volume

Hum some more info : I tried to umount by hand
umount -f /tmp/DSImagingMount/
That worked, but after that the hdutil command failed with ? ressource busy ?
I had a diskimage_helper process that was still there, and than the hdutil command seems to work.

f.g.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB