You are not logged in.

Announcement

[2017.09.08] DeployStudio build v1.7.8 (checksum, release note).
[2016.08.26] DeployStudio build v1.6.19 (release note).
[2013.02.23] DeployStudio last universal build v1.5.17 (release note).

#1 2017-08-15 11:28:27

rossoneris
Member
Registered: 2015-07-03

Seen this issue before ?

Still working on getting the new 2017 models to work with network boot. Before holidays I did not find any solution - so today, 2 weeks after, I just tried again with a network boot and it worked! and I changed nothing

But ....I have experienced this 2 times before, that it suddenly work. So I restart the computer, and nothing touched or changed at all - but now it show the "access denied" icon when making a network boot

What can this be ? - somehow a server issue I guess, as the client has not changed at all. Do any have some ideas?

Offline

#2 2017-08-15 13:37:59

rossoneris
Member
Registered: 2015-07-03

Re: Seen this issue before ?

Here is the log from the server

Aug 15 14:29:56 dkhqmac01.prd.eccocorp.net bootpd[3775]: BSDP INFORM [en0] 1,58:ef:68:7b:cc:42 NetBoot040 arch=i386 sysid=MacBookPro13,3
Aug 15 14:29:56 dkhqmac01.prd.eccocorp.net bootpd[3775]: NetBoot: [1,58:ef:68:7b:cc:42] BSDP ACK[LIST] sent 10.129.6.30 pktsize 307
Aug 15 14:29:57 dkhqmac01.prd.eccocorp.net bootpd[3775]: BSDP INFORM [en0] 1,58:ef:68:7b:cc:42 NetBoot040 arch=i386 sysid=MacBookPro13,3
Aug 15 14:29:57 dkhqmac01.prd.eccocorp.net bootpd[3775]: NetBoot: [1,58:ef:68:7b:cc:42] BSDP ACK[LIST] sent 10.129.6.30 pktsize 307
Aug 15 14:29:58 dkhqmac01.prd.eccocorp.net bootpd[3775]: BSDP INFORM [en0] 1,58:ef:68:7b:cc:42 NetBoot040 arch=i386 sysid=MacBookPro13,3
Aug 15 14:29:58 dkhqmac01.prd.eccocorp.net bootpd[3775]: NetBoot: [1,58:ef:68:7b:cc:42] BSDP ACK[SELECT] sent 10.129.6.30 pktsize 369
Aug 15 14:30:28 dkhqmac01.prd.eccocorp.net bootpd[3775]: BSDP INFORM [en0] 1,58:ef:68:7b:cc:42 NetBoot040 arch=i386 sysid=MacBookPro13,3
Aug 15 14:30:28 dkhqmac01.prd.eccocorp.net bootpd[3775]: NetBoot: [1,58:ef:68:7b:cc:42] BSDP ACK[SELECT] sent 10.129.6.30 pktsize 369

But this is really crazy why this can work maybe one out of 100 times. I have of course also tried to restart server, but still not netbook is working

Last edited by rossoneris (2017-08-15 13:38:40)

Offline

#3 2017-08-15 17:22:27

Meat
Member
From: SF CA US
Registered: 2009-02-04

Re: Seen this issue before ?

How many netboot sets do you have enabled on your server?
Are you using the option key when booting up your target machines?
What about a PRAM reset on the clients?

Offline

#4 2017-08-15 19:52:52

rossoneris
Member
Registered: 2015-07-03

Re: Seen this issue before ?

I have only 1 netboot set, and it works on all older models but not the new ones, even I of course have made a netboot image of the newest model I have.. I both try to boot up on option key, where the netboot set is shown - and also just try to press N. But with same result

PRAM I have not tried, but will try tomorrow. But has PRAM been issue on newer models ? on older models there have newer been problems

Last edited by rossoneris (2017-08-15 19:53:17)

Offline

#5 2017-08-16 06:14:10

rossoneris
Member
Registered: 2015-07-03

Re: Seen this issue before ?

tryed to reset both NVRAM and SMC - but still does not work

Offline

#6 2017-08-16 21:32:16

Meat
Member
From: SF CA US
Registered: 2009-02-04

Re: Seen this issue before ?

What specific steps did you take to create your .nbi?

Offline

#7 2017-08-17 06:45:39

rossoneris
Member
Registered: 2015-07-03

Re: Seen this issue before ?

Well - On a new macbook I install deploystudio and run the assistant, where I then create a netboot set. The Nbi set is created successfully, and afterwards I copy it to the server, in the netboot folder.
Works well on old machines, not new ones

Offline

#8 2017-08-17 10:32:46

rossoneris
Member
Registered: 2015-07-03

Re: Seen this issue before ?

I have tried multiple times over the last day without any luck. So today I try to reset the NVram again and suddenly I can netboot the macbook. I restart and try again, and now again "access denied" icon is showing up. I tried multiple times nvram reset again, but does not manage to netboot without the access denied icon.
Maybe it is just coincedence that it worked after nvram reset, but this is really damm strange that it can work sometimes without anything has changed

Offline

#9 2017-08-17 11:22:20

rossoneris
Member
Registered: 2015-07-03

Re: Seen this issue before ?

Ok - news again
I just tryed to network boot the same MAC about 20 times, everytime the same way. But the 21 time I tryed it suddenly work
So are we talking of server issue here more then client ? - just wondering why the older macbooks ALWAYS work first time without any problems

Offline

#10 2017-08-21 22:55:45

Meat
Member
From: SF CA US
Registered: 2009-02-04

Re: Seen this issue before ?

You could try verbose boot immediately after selecting your netboot image, but stuff is going to fly by pretty quickly, so not entirely sure if you'd be able to capture anything useful...

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB