You are not logged in.

Announcement

[2017.09.08] DeployStudio build v1.7.8 (checksum, release note).
[2016.08.26] DeployStudio build v1.6.19 (release note).
[2013.02.23] DeployStudio last universal build v1.5.17 (release note).

#1 2016-01-27 15:31:57

morlando

Brand new to DeployStudio

Good morning everyone, please bare with me as I am completely new to DeployStudio, and some of the terms and jargon out a little out of my range. We have downloaded DeployStudio on our local server here at our school. We have a classroom of about 30 Macs that we want to push new OS and Packages to.

I installed DS based on this video here on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rm5j1MnGuAc

The only thing I did not do was set it up on a network, and did it locally. So I pointed the folder at a HD on the server and have not set up NetBoot.

I have downloaded the DeployStudio Server 1.7.1 on our server and on two of the computers out in the lab.

The server is running OSX 10.8.5

The Macs in the computer lab are running OSX 10.9.5

I used AutoDMG and placed El Capitan and some user profiles/packages into it as well. The AutoDMG created was placed in the Masters/HFC folder and can be seen in the DeployStudio Admin "Masters" list.

I added both Macs to my Computer list using their serial numbers, and input their IP addresses into the Network Tab.

At this point, when I log into the DeployStudio Run Time on the macs in the lab, I get a Repository Access Error, which I imagine is because the Repository is set up on the Server's HD and it cannot see it because of that. Is it necessary for Runtime to see that repository on our labs Macs?

Once I add a Mac via Serial Number in the DeployStudio Admin, how do I push that AutoDMG file I created with the new OS to the computers out in the lab? I see some options, and can select the DMG file, but I cannot see any options to select specific computers for it to be reimaged.