You are not logged in.

Announcement

[2017.09.08] DeployStudio build v1.7.8 (checksum, release note).
[2016.08.26] DeployStudio build v1.6.19 (release note).
[2013.02.23] DeployStudio last universal build v1.5.17 (release note).

#26 2014-01-20 18:10:06

jazzeux
Member
Registered: 2014-01-20

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

I also have the same problem. I updated DS from 10.6 to 10.6.3 and I authorized the certificate, but still no luck...  I have this message : Repository access failure...

Offline

#27 2014-01-22 22:52:03

gmbeason
Member
Registered: 2014-01-22

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

I have a Mid 2011 Mac Mini Running 10.8.5 Server and DeployStudio Server v1.6.3 (b130904).  I created a new 10.9 DeployStudio .nbi from a brand new MacBook Pro Retina and moved the .nbi into the /Library/Netboot/NetbootSP0 folder with my others.  My previous DeployStudio 10.8 .nbi works fine, but when I try to use the 10.9 .nbi I get the repository error.  Not sure it is a 10.9 server issue, but maybe a 10.9 created .nbi that is the culprit.  Would love a fix so that I could image our new Macs.

Offline

#28 2014-01-22 23:10:38

admin
Administrator
Registered: 2007-03-29
Website

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

Make sure the date and time of the netbooted machine are correct.

Offline

#29 2014-01-23 01:12:41

gmbeason
Member
Registered: 2014-01-22

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

Not sure what that would matter, but there is no time or date in the toolbar when booted into DeployStudio.  I can open DeployStudio Admin which doesn't give me a date or time either.  The only other option is to quit DS Runtime.  Once you do that the computer reboots.

Offline

#30 2014-01-23 07:56:01

admin
Administrator
Registered: 2007-03-29
Website

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

Display the logs Windows.

Offline

#31 2014-01-29 22:14:24

Salman_89
Member
Registered: 2013-05-06

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

I had this problem as well but I was able to fix it by disabling the file sharing service on the mac server admin app then turned it back on. Let me know if it works...

Offline

#32 2014-02-03 18:54:11

techpdx
Member
Registered: 2014-02-03

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

I just had the same issue. I had recently changed the server to a static IP and forgot to assign a DNS server. Once I setup DNS everything worked.

Offline

#33 2014-02-04 13:10:52

kwisher
Member
Registered: 2012-06-13

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

> techpdx wrote:

> I just had the same issue. I had recently changed the server to a static IP and forgot to assign a DNS server. Once I setup DNS everything worked.
Can you be more specific? Did you enable the DNS server on your DS or did you add a DNS entry to another server that is running your DNS? We have a MS AD environment and one of our MS DC's is the master DNS server and my DS machine has a static IP that is assigned in that server. This same setup was present before I upgraded to mavericks and everything worked just fine.

Last edited by kwisher (2014-02-04 13:11:29)

Offline

#34 2014-02-05 13:12:17

PetriA
Member
Registered: 2014-02-05

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

I found workaround for this issue. I enabled guest access to Deploy Studio share.
I'm not sure, if I can disable quest access later, but for now this seems to work.

Offline

#35 2014-02-07 13:52:45

admin
Administrator
Registered: 2007-03-29
Website

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

If DeployStudioServer is running on the file server, remove the share point configuration using Server.app and recreate it.

Offline

#36 2014-02-07 16:40:15

kwisher
Member
Registered: 2012-06-13

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

I have tried all the suggestions in this post and still get the same error message.

Offline

#37 2014-03-10 18:03:13

Joy
Member
Registered: 2009-11-30

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

Has this been resolved yet?  Just did the same exact thing and now I'm broke (posted on the DeBug forum as well):

I can also add to the list of things I've tried, enabling guest access to the share, and making sure the DNS servers were entered.


**********
I just updated my Mac mini server to Maverick and now DS 1.6.3 does not seem to work.

Now when I do a net boot, it will boot up to the net boot image and will authenticate the user, but can not find the repository.

I can mount the repository share with the login and see all folders in it.  I can drop to CLI at the net boot screen and manually mount the repository share, but I can not see any folders past this.

I've re-created a net boot set with the latest and greatest Mac running Maverick
I've uninstalled and reinstalled DS 1.6.3
I've setup a new repository.
I've created a new login.
I've made sure that I've got the client/data side of the net boot server setup.
I've reset the perms on the repository, giving the imaging login read access to everything again.

Still no dice. 

Is there something else I should be checking? 

Thank you!

Offline

#38 2014-03-10 18:12:58

admin
Administrator
Registered: 2007-03-29
Website

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

Try with the last nightly.

Offline

#39 2014-03-10 19:08:44

Joy
Member
Registered: 2009-11-30

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

I've tried the nightly build and I'm still having the same problem.

Does the net boot, finds the server, will authenticate and then error out, unable to find the repository.  If I hit continue, it will go to the workflow screen and the logs state the following:

23 plugins were loaded successfully
Starting Bonjour lookup..
Connected to server server.namer (1.6.4-NB140309)
Checking repository path existence (/Deploy)....

and that's it.

I did notice the smb option that was suggested for Mavericks.  Are these ports suppose to be open now?  We only open ports up, as needed.

Thank you for you quick response.  I appreciate it greatly!

Joy

Offline

#40 2014-03-10 20:14:14

Joy
Member
Registered: 2009-11-30

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

I did a tcpdump of the server and client, if it would be of any help.

Offline

#41 2014-03-10 23:25:05

admin
Administrator
Registered: 2007-03-29
Website

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

Normal sequence from a DeployStudio Runtime:
  Checking server reachability (server=10.x.y.z port=548) ...
  Mounting repository share point...
  /bin/mkdir /tmp/DSNetworkRepository 2>&1
  /bin/chmod 777 /tmp/DSNetworkRepository 2>&1
  /bin/chmod 777 /tmp/DSNetworkRepository 2>&1
  Mount call...
  Parsing result...

Sounds like you've setup your DeployStudio Server to use a local repository (server's local folder).

Offline

#42 2014-03-11 13:57:25

Joy
Member
Registered: 2009-11-30

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

It was, but I changed to a network mount and it seems to be working again, so I'm happy with that.

Thank you!!

Offline

#43 2014-03-11 21:28:03

admin
Administrator
Registered: 2007-03-29
Website

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

We'll add an alert in DeployStudio Assistant to prevent this common mistake.

Offline

#44 2014-03-12 17:44:38

kwisher
Member
Registered: 2012-06-13

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

> admin wrote:

> Normal sequence from a DeployStudio Runtime:
  Checking server reachability (server=10.x.y.z port=548) ...
  Mounting repository share point...
  /bin/mkdir /tmp/DSNetworkRepository 2>&1
  /bin/chmod 777 /tmp/DSNetworkRepository 2>&1
  /bin/chmod 777 /tmp/DSNetworkRepository 2>&1
  Mount call...
  Parsing result...

Sounds like you've setup your DeployStudio Server to use a local repository (server's local folder).

Why can't local storage be used? It worked on mine before the Mavericks upgrade.

Offline

#45 2014-03-12 22:48:30

admin
Administrator
Registered: 2007-03-29
Website

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

Because a netbooted machine cannot access the local storage of the DeployStudio server without file sharing.

The repository can be hosted on server's local storage but needs to be shared for remote clients.

Offline

#46 2014-03-13 14:20:55

kwisher
Member
Registered: 2012-06-13

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

> admin wrote:

> Because a netbooted machine cannot access the local storage of the DeployStudio server without file sharing.

The repository can be hosted on server's local storage but needs to be shared for remote clients.

Yes, I have the repository shared just like I did before the Mavericks upgrade. This setup worked before the upgrade.

Offline

#47 2014-03-15 06:25:30

brouleedave
Member
Registered: 2014-03-15

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

Hi All

I  am getting the Repository access error. I am now on my 5th clean instal and total rebuild, as well as many tweaks to the Mac Server sharing settings. Happened after upgrading a Server from 10.6.8 to 10.9.2.
Any bits of wisdom will be gratefully received.

Cheers

Offline

#48 2014-03-16 02:53:48

brouleedave
Member
Registered: 2014-03-15

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

Solved it. At the screen where you put in the repository settings url I pointed to the server  numerically rather than using the DNS name.
afp://10.xxx.xx.xx/DeployStudioRepository
Used build 140309

HTH

Offline

#49 2014-04-02 15:39:59

CamdenMatt
Member
Registered: 2014-04-02

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

Had the same problem.  Just went in File sharing and changed the Permissions to the DS Share to Read & Write and fixed the problem.
Also discovered that NetInstall was off as a reult of the upgrade, had to edit the storage settings and turn on again to get it all up & running again.

Offline

#50 2014-05-16 01:15:09

pasty
Member
Registered: 2014-05-15

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

@CamdenMatt  You changed the permissions for which user to r/w?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB