You are not logged in.

Announcement

[2017.09.08] DeployStudio build v1.7.8 (checksum, release note).
[2016.08.26] DeployStudio build v1.6.19 (release note).
[2013.02.23] DeployStudio last universal build v1.5.17 (release note).

#1 2013-11-22 19:19:35

salmon
Member
Registered: 2010-06-18

Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

Server is a mid-2010 MacPro Server 24 GB memory
running 10.9 (Now)
DeployStudio 1.6.3
Firewall is off

Last night I went ahead and updated our imaging server to 10.9 (Mavericks)
Today we can not get imaging to work.
When I try to get into the DeployStudio Server after authentication an error comes up that says:
Repository access error
The server failed to mount or access to its repository.
Please contact the DeployStudio administrator
to fix there server's repository configuration.

Then it has a close button which will terminate the login.
I checked the shared directory on the Server.app, it is there. I can attach to the shared directory (afp://server name/Images) from other devices.
Reinstalling the software fails when trying to designate the repository directory.

Help!
Peace,
Tom

Offline

#2 2013-11-22 21:13:46

dstranathan
Member
From: KC MO USA
Registered: 2009-01-22

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

I have the exact same issue. Glad to see that I am not going crazy. I was starting to wonder.

Server OS: OS X 10.9 Mavericks (Server 2.1)
DeployStudio Server versions 1.6.2, 1.6.3 and various nightly builds too (NB131113 and NB131027)
I have tested various NetBoot .nbi sets including 10.8 and 10.9 versions
AFP is working manually (I can mount the DeployStudio AFP share with no issues). Even when authentication is set to be wide-open (read/right for all)
DNS has the appropriate records. NetBoot/DeployStudio server has static IP. No issues locating/resolving the server.
Test server and clients are on the same subnet & VLAN.
Hardware includes 2011, 2012 and 2013 hardware including Mac Mini. MacBook Air 11" and MacBook Pro13" models

"Repository access error
The server failed to mount or access to its repository.
Please contact the DeployStudio administrator
to fix there server's repository configuration."


Side note: This topic should be moved from "Install" to "Usage"

Last edited by dstranathan (2013-11-22 21:36:21)

Offline

#3 2013-11-23 19:12:47

smajor
Member
Registered: 2013-11-23

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

Exactly the same thing here. I believe it is because DS is "testing" the connection locally, which fails with Mavericks now.  If you go to the machine in which DS is installed, you can no longer "connect to yourself" in Mavericks.  It shows the message, "This file server is available on your computer. Access the volumes and files locally."

Offline

#4 2013-11-24 19:37:04

kwisher
Member
Registered: 2012-06-13

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

Also having the same issue. There is another post regarding this issue that has not had any response for a couple of weeks. This is very frustrating.

Offline

#5 2013-11-26 23:53:34

admin
Administrator
Registered: 2007-03-29
Website

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

May you email us an extract of your server system log file?
It should contain details on the error.

Offline

#6 2013-12-02 15:04:19

kwisher
Member
Registered: 2012-06-13

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

> admin wrote:

> May you email us an extract of your server system log file?
It should contain details on the error.
Can you be more specific to the exact path to the file you are wanting?
What email address should I send it to?

Thanks.

Offline

#7 2013-12-02 23:11:06

admin
Administrator
Registered: 2007-03-29
Website

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

The /var/log/system.log file located on your server.
You can email it to debug@deploystudio.com.

Offline

#8 2013-12-03 16:58:18

kwisher
Member
Registered: 2012-06-13

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

> admin wrote:

> The /var/log/system.log file located on your server.
You can email it to debug@deploystudio.com.
Email with log file has been sent.

TIA

Offline

#9 2013-12-03 17:06:31

kwisher
Member
Registered: 2012-06-13

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

> admin wrote:

> The /var/log/system.log file located on your server.
You can email it to debug@deploystudio.com.
The email I sent got bounced back??

Offline

#10 2013-12-03 22:20:31

admin
Administrator
Registered: 2007-03-29
Website

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

Try admin@deploystudio.com.

Offline

#11 2013-12-04 20:46:15

cskimbrell
Member
Registered: 2013-12-04

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

I have also had this issue. I have re-setup DeployStudio from scratch on 10.9 but always run into the Repository Access Error when trying to connect over the network from a machine that I want to put an image on.

Offline

#12 2013-12-04 23:12:06

elfrost
Member
Registered: 2013-12-03

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

Same issue here on a Mid Mac Mini Mid 2011 running clean install of Mavericks 10.9, Server 3.0.1 and DeployStudio 1.6.3.

Offline

#13 2013-12-05 03:22:19

suicider
Member
Registered: 2013-11-14

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

had the same issue on a 2012 imac running 10.9 server. deploy studio was 1.6.3 and i ended up upgrading to the nightly and then it worked but noticed some other issues so i downgraded back to 1.6.3 and still had the same issue so then i restarted the server and then it worked fine after that.

just thought i would add what i had done in case that helps anyone

Offline

#14 2013-12-05 18:32:33

sturtus
Member
Registered: 2010-08-26

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

Similar issues running 10.9 and DS 1.6.3

http://www.deploystudio.com/Forums/viewtopic.php?pid=22351#p22351

Not functioning.

Offline

#15 2013-12-06 03:49:28

taugust04
Member
From: Rhode Island, USA
Registered: 2009-02-28

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

Most likely you are using a self-signed certificate that has not been recognized by your upgraded 10.9 system, and you are configured to use https.  Try doing the following:

1.  Open Safari on your DeployStudio server:
2.  Go to https://127.0.0.1:60443 (or whatever port your deploy studio server is configured on).
3.  You will get a warning about the certificate.  Accept the certificate, and use your admin username/password to save the certificate to the system keychain.

After saving/authorizing the self-signed certificate to the keychain, using Safari, the DeployStudio Server will finish the initialization and become available for use.  Hopefully this helps you.  This was done on DeployStudio 1.6.4 latest nightly build.  It seems that Mavericks is picky about certificates...

~Ted

Offline

#16 2013-12-06 16:12:52

sturtus
Member
Registered: 2010-08-26

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

Thank you Ted. However, the prompt to enter my admin creds continued after accepting the certificate in Safari as you suggested.

I was only able to resolve this by disabling SSL in DeployStudio. Not ideal, and look forward to a fix.

Offline

#17 2013-12-09 16:36:44

kwisher
Member
Registered: 2012-06-13

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

Still no luck with the previous suggestions regarding SSL.

Offline

#18 2013-12-10 21:01:05

ffelix
Member
Registered: 2013-12-10

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

Hi..

Is your internal network using Cisco Switches?  You may have a DHCP Snooping issue.

If so, check the port in to which the server is connected and configure the interface.
DHCP Snooping needs to be disabled for the port the server is connected to with the following line in the switch port configuration:
ip dhcp snooping trust

This is because Apple uses a variant of DHCP called BSDP (Boot Service Discovery Protocol), which DHCP Snooping breaks unless it is trusted.

Offline

#19 2013-12-11 14:32:22

kwisher
Member
Registered: 2012-06-13

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

Is this something new with 10.9? I had a previous DS server working before the upgrade. Nothing has changed except the server O/S. And yes, we do have Cisco switches.

Offline

#20 2013-12-14 20:57:43

smajor
Member
Registered: 2013-11-23

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

I doubt it has anything to do with switches, We use Nortel at work  and I've duplicated it at home on a different system with a "dumb" Linksys Switch.

It's an OS message clearly saying, "This file server is available on your computer. Access the volumes and files locally" which makes perfect sense - you ARE, after all, trying to do that with DS in setup.

You'll also receive this message also if you go to "Connect to server..." on the server and try to connect to itself.

Offline

#21 2013-12-16 23:28:31

DreamMover
Member
Registered: 2013-12-16

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

I had the same Issue this morning, i used the assistant to reconfig my server and choose a network location instead of Local Location. The folder i did choose i had to set the sharing on it so that the afp credentials will work. I rebooted the target machine i wanted to image and I no longer got that error messege and was able to start a new image. I was not able to see if it finished or not yet since I had to leave to my second IT job. Meh

Ill give a heads up on weather or not it worked. Mac OSX 10.9 (client install, nonserverx)

Offline

#22 2013-12-26 21:56:50

tiggertazz
Member
Registered: 2013-04-02

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

> sturtus wrote:

> Thank you Ted. However, the prompt to enter my admin creds continued after accepting the certificate in Safari as you suggested.

I was only able to resolve this by disabling SSL in DeployStudio. Not ideal, and look forward to a fix.

For this you will need to enter the user name and password you are logged in at the time. If you are logged into a standard user and you try to use the administrator credentials it will just bounce.


I am no expert but I will give it a try.
TiggerTazz tongue

Offline

#23 2014-01-08 20:06:48

gsprague
Member
Registered: 2009-03-25

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

Same issue here! With or without SSL isn't working for me. I had to standup another server with an AFP file share.

Last edited by gsprague (2014-01-10 19:39:08)

Offline

#24 2014-01-10 09:20:34

datainajar
Member
Registered: 2014-01-10

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

Hi all,

I am getting the "failed to mount or access repository" on a 10.9 server.

Offline

#25 2014-01-16 09:29:59

Manu75
Member
Registered: 2013-07-04

Re: Upgraded to 10.9, now DeployStudio fails with Repository Access Error

Same problem here after upgrade 10.9 (v1.6.3)
SSL certificate approved with safari but not luck.
Any idea ?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB