You are not logged in.

Announcement

[2014.10.21] DeployStudio last stable build (release note).
[2013.02.23] DeployStudio last universal stable build (release note).

#1 2011-06-16 22:52:13

admin
Administrator
Website

How critical is PowerPC support?

Hi,

we're moving to Xcode 4.1 and we don't know how long we'll be able to trick the development suite to support the PPC architecture.

Please, let us know the percentage of ppc based Macs in your organisation.

#2 2011-06-17 10:00:58

ramuntcho

Re: How critical is PowerPC support?

Hi,

Here in Geneva (Switzerland) all our macs in public schools have intel architecture.

:-))  Christian

#3 2011-06-17 13:35:41

admin
Administrator
Website

Full intel and full 10.6? that's great :)

#4 2011-06-17 18:09:54

ramuntcho

Yes, all in 10.6 :-))

#5 2011-06-20 05:54:59

PaintedTurtle

I'm a consultant, so it depends on the organization. But, I'd take your poll results with a bit caution.

Some of the organizations for which PowerPC support is likely to be most critical are poor school districts. That is where PowerPC Macs are likely to still be in use in moderate volumes. In my country, and I suspect some others as well, educators who might respond to this survey are on break till the end of summer.

But even outside of education, results very. One of my non-educational clients wouldn't notice the loss of PowerPC support. Yet, I have another, who's Deploy Studio Server is of necessity a PowerPC G5. (A charity organization, and it is is the fastest Mac they have.) And nearly all the machines that they are imaging are Power Macs. So for them, it would hurt a lot.

I'm not a programmer, but I did notice some comments that seem relevant to the problem, and suggest a workaround at:
     [url]http://stackoverflow.com/questions/5333490/how-can-we-restore-ppc-ppc64-as-well-as-full-10-4-10-5-sdk-support-to-xcode-4[/url]